A New Mexico-based construction firm and a Nuclear Security Administration official were among the winners of this year's Department of Energy small-business awards at the agency's annual conference this week.

The Secretarial Small Business Awards are given each year to acknowledge superior performance by federal officials, contractors, and businesses owners. The award categories include areas such as innovation, management and administration, among others. This year's Federal Small Business Innovation Award went to Colleen Griffith of the National Nuclear Security Administration Office of Management and Administration. The Construction Firm of the Year was awarded to Albuquerque, N.M.-based TEF Construction Inc.

Award winners were honored at the agency's Small Business Conference in Washington on June 26-28.

- next -